WIPs 'N Chains

Kim Guzman, Crochet and Knit Design

Messy Food

8 Comments

My little man, Christian, is pretty particular about his food. He doesn’t like messy food. That’s okay. I don’t like messy food either. But, it bothered me that he won’t eat barbeque ribs with the rest of us. (We’re a rib-loving family, after all.)

Everyone has their little idiosyncrasies. Some people like to drink soda from the refrigerator with ice. Some people drink soda at room temperature with ice. Some people, refrigerated, no ice. Christian is one of the “no ice” people. I was surprised to find out that two of my cousin’s children also want to drink their beverages without ice, while the third prefers ice. These little things make up our unique personalities. It’s who we are.

I normally won’t eat corn on the cob unless I cut off the corn. I never eat fried chicken by picking it up. I use a fork. (Yeah, maybe Christian got this from me. LOL) Nevertheless, even a child can have his idiosyncrasies. And, he may grow out of it. Or, they could be replaced by new idiosyncrasies. It’s just a part of growing up and developing your own tastes and personality.

But, again, I was disappointed that Christian wouldn’t eat certain things that the rest of us enjoy so much because of that messy factor. Wheat Carr, a regular in my Tunisian Crochet YahooGroup, frequent commenter on my Facebook page, and owner of ItsAllJustString.com, hearing of Christian’s plight, identified what could turn out to be the craziest OR the most genius product on the market, depending on how you look at it.

Trongs

Wheat sent Christian a little box of them and Christian is very eager to try them and let her know what he thinks of them. My oldest son just rolled his eyes. ha!

I know that it’s a crazy idea. But, it’s one of those things that was invented by two “crazy” guys in the USA and now they’re marketing it. I love that! You come up with an idea and you market it and you sell it. Follow that dream!

The website gives all kinds of examples of different uses. The one about using them when egg/flouring your meat or vegetables before frying is brilliant!

But, me? Oh, yeah, this means I can now eat Cheetos while crocheting and not worry about orange-tipped fingers. :-)

Author: crochetkim

Artist: Crochet and Knit Pattern Designer

8 thoughts on “Messy Food

  1. Genius Cheetos/chips/snacks idea! I was eating some Pirate’s Booty, and I had to put my yarn down to do it. Time is a-wastin’! I too hate getting my hands messy and sticky; so I use fork and knife when having chicken, ribs, what have you. Before I became allergic to watermelon, it was misery to have to get messy or not have it at all, lol. I’m going to have to try those out.

  2. Gee, Kim – I thought I was the only one who loved Cheetos with a passion. :) I don’t mind the messy fingers – I eat Cheetos as a break from crochet and licking my fingers to suck off all the salty, cheesy goodness is part of the love. Trongs are interesting, but I don’t mind licking my fingers.

  3. We have had to teach our son to get messy. We got him to touch things that are messy on a regular basis. He is allowed to clean his hands once he has done it. It was a long process but he can now eat finger food and play in sand, mud etc. He still cleans his hands as soon as he is finished but it doesn’t bother him as it did.

  4. If I can use a knife and fork I’ll always do so. I even eat ribs, chicken wings and drumsticks, pizza etc using a knife and fork. Lol, I’ve never given it any thought until now. I don’t enjoy messy fingers while eating yet I’ll happily work in dirt while gardening.

  5. Looking forward to getting Christian’s review – glad to here he shared one for your cheeto needs. Do you like how they stand up by themselves so you can slip them on and off?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers