WIPs 'N Chains

Kim Guzman, Crochet and Knit Design

Learn to Crochet 1-2-3

4 Comments

I believe I’ve mentioned this once before, but it’s been months and there are now three issues of this magazine out there in the big, wide world. And, I need to write about it.

Crochet 1-2-3 magazine, website here. All projects for each issue have been databased on Ravelry here.

The magazine is available in Walmart. It can be found in the craft department or the magazine department. (There doesn’t appear to be consistency with location in the store.) Not all Walmarts had them. (Mine doesn’t yet.) But, I believe that’s going to change. The magazine is also available by subscription at the website. Back issues are available for purchase. If we all play nicely and buy lots of them, maybe distribution will grow to other venues.

The big thing about this magazine is that I have a pretty big part in it. And, to be honest, it’s been tough. Probably the toughest thing I’ve ever done. It sounded a lot easier than it turned out to be. But, you guys know me. I am always up for a challenge. And, this was a biggie.

With each magazine, I have a technique article. For the technique, I have three projects. These patterns are arranged in difficulty so that you learn the technique, then expand upon it with the other projects. You get to learn in 1-2-3 fashion.

Now, the other cool thing? Not only do you get three projects to learn a techique and a two-page article with close-up photos, you also get free online videos. And, that’s cool.

I am also doing the online videos. All by myself. Editing too. And, seriously, I’m trying to get them finished as quickly as I can. And, I’m getting better. I’m starting to do things in more of a system so that I have fewer “takes”. And, this is crucial. I have to sit on my feet with a tripod between my knees, leaning up next to the coffee table with haphazard lights strewn about.  I have to take frequent breaks because my feet fall asleep. From what I understand, I shouldn’t be crocheting when it’s painful. Feet falling asleep is PAINFUL! ha!

So, here we go with the techniques.

Issue 1: Working In a Spiral. Three hats to try out working in a spiral without joining rounds, in three different stitches.

Issue 2: Working with Beads. Three different beading techniques.

Issue 3: Crocheted Cables. Three scarves with three different cable stitch patterns.

You can jump over to the website and view the videos now as well. Except for issue 2. I hope to have those finished next week. And, things should run much more smoothly for me now that I’ve been doing this for several months. But, I tell you what. Between trying to figure out how to teach a technique using three progressive projects, doing the swatches, doing the videos, doing the video editing… It’s taken me awhile to figure out the most efficient way to do everything.

Author: crochetkim

Artist: Crochet and Knit Pattern Designer

4 thoughts on “Learn to Crochet 1-2-3

  1. Kim, you are a superwoman to many of us! Thank you so much for all the help, teaching and incredible information you offer us every day! Since I have been looking for the Magazine in my Walmart and even told the manager he should get it in and haven’t yet found it, I will be purchasing the back copies and get a subscription so I won’t lose out any more. Doing the videos have got to be a killer for you. Have you tried a tabletop tripod on your coffee table while sitting on a high stool so it is aimed at the right place. Maybe this will get you off the painful sitting on your feet. As for makeshift light, the million candle power flashlights sold at Lowes or Home Depot on from behind you may help as well. To focus the light you can use those screen type things we used to use to get a suntan on our faces when we were young and stupid. Just a couple of suggestions. Again, thank you.
    Merry

  2. I subscribed to this magazine when it was first announced that it was going to be printed and I sure haven’t been disappointed.

  3. Kim, you are an amazing individual. I love this magazine and I am always looking for it at different Walmarts. I am going to order it at the website so I can be sure to get one. It is a great magazine and I really appreciate all the hard work you put in to making this magazine so customer friendly. We crocheters love to make beautiful things and learn at the same time. You are wonderful. I pray all works out to make life a bit easier for you. Take care and thank you for everything you do to make life a whole lot happier for me and fellow crocheters. Indebted to you, Wendy

  4. Great news, Kim. I’d love to subscribe, but I only get digital mags these days as I have sight issues and have to be able to enlarge the print so I can see it. I’ll be on the lookout when I go to WM, but they don’t have a lot of mags there.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers