WIPs 'N Chains

Kim Guzman, Crochet and Knit Design

New Tunisian Crochet Stitch Pattern Book

7 Comments

Yes, I have been clicking on Amazon and checking the book listings every Monday night for as long as I can remember in order to get a first glimpse at one of the two books which will soon be available. And, this Monday night, I finally hit the jackpot!

This book is tremendously exciting for me. I’ve never done a stitch pattern book before. But, I was so excited about it that I couldn’t resist. As many of you know, in a Getting Loopy interview with MaryBeth Temple, when asked about stitch pattern books available in the United States, I told the world on live radio to just give me a chance; I have Tunisian crochet stitch patterns falling out of my ears. Leisure Arts must have heard that and this book was born.

I’m a bit timid to say the exact number of stitch patterns in the book without seeing it first. There’s always the possibility that something could have been dropped due to publishing. So, I will wait until later to give you more specific information. Some of the book covers classic Tunisian crochet stitch patterns. But most of them are straight out of my head. All new stitch patterns, most never-before-seen. I say “most” because, although they came out of my head, it’s always possible that they could have come out of someone else’s head at some other time as well. You just never know. But, I can safely say that I created almost every stitch pattern in the book. It’s not a compilation of stitch patterns which I pooled together from other sources. It’s all me. And, seriously, if you were to see only the pineapple stitch patterns in Tunisian crochet, it will leave you with no doubt that this is something very new to the Tunisian crochet world.

I have written about a dozen books on Tunisian crochet over my career and this is the biggest and best accomplishment for me. I’m so excited about it and I can’t wait until it’s available. But, wait, we must do. The book, although listed on Amazon here, will not be available until March 2013. Yes, yes, I know. Three months is a long time. But, don’t forget! I’ve been waiting since 2011. ha! Three months doesn’t sound as long now, does it? :-)

For those of you asking about e-reader availability, it is still too early for me to know whether the book will be available for e-readers. Chances are good since the last book with this publisher is available in that format. But, it’s simply too early to be certain.

I recently wrote a post on Ravelry about my love for Tunisian crochet and I want to share it here with you here because it’s so appropriate to the introduction of this book.

I am having a love affair with Tunisian crochet. But, my love affair isn’t a short one. It’s not at all a flighty affair. I’ve been writing books on Tunisian crochet since 1998. I’ve got 11 books so far, in amongst the others in regular crochet.

The current trend toward Tunisian crochet is a direct result of tool manufacture. When I first started, we had only the 14” regular afghan hook. With the manufacture of different hooks in all different materials and even interchangeable hooks, the craft has grown by leaps and bounds over the last 5 years. (Be sure to check my Tunisian crochet pages here to research the advances made in Tunisian crochet hooks.)

This has always happened in our crafting history. If there are no readily-available tools, there are no designs. You can directly map out the transitions in crafting solely due to the availability of tools.

I remember specifically looking at a Crochet Fantasy magazine and seeing a few extraordinary pieces. But, I was so disappointed when I read the materials list and saw that it included the long afghan hook. I was scared of it. I thought I would have to learn something new. But, those projects always crept into my mind and I yearned for the knowledge of it. I was just scared.

Then, in 1998, I was given some swivel hooks by Annie’s Attic and I was asked to design with them. I was forced to sit down and learn. Imagine my surprise when I discovered that it was so easy! Naturally, because I am me, I stuck with Tunisian crochet instead of double-ended which they requested. But, it was all good. I sold three books in one sit-down meeting.

Since then, I’ve worked and worked on Tunisian crochet along with my regular crochet. I love its versatility. I love that I can use yarns that don’t always work in regular crochet. I love that it’s such a baby and hasn’t been fully explored. I love that stitch patterns just fall out of my ears. I don’t need stitch pattern books for it. I create the stitch patterns myself. I create so many stitch patterns in Tunisian that I even wrote an entire book on stitch patterns alone. Not stitch patterns copied from another book and re-written and re-charted. Stitch patterns right out of my head.

What do I like most about Tunisian crochet? I can get the look of regular crochet, hand-knitting or woven. I can get all those things out of it. I don’t consider Tunisian crochet to be an evil step-child of the crafts, or someone’s attempt to get the look of knitting from regular crochet. I don’t consider it the worst of both crafts together in one. On the contrary, I think it’s the perfect craft. One craft can look like all those three crafts and more. It can look like hairpin lace, broomstick lace, macrame. If I were to choose only one craft, it would certainly be Tunisian.

Author: crochetkim

Artist: Crochet and Knit Pattern Designer

7 thoughts on “New Tunisian Crochet Stitch Pattern Book

  1. congrats!
    I am looking forward to purchasing the book.

  2. Very exciting! I’m anxious to get the book and learn more stitches!!!

  3. Oh, I agree with you…Tunisian is the best of both worlds, especially to those of us who either don’t enjoy knitting (me) or those who don’t knit. We can get the look without the pain! lol

  4. Another gotta have book for me as I’m a book/pattern/magazine junkie and I’ve taken to Tunisian in a big way.. I am turning on a friend to it who’s in my Monday knit/crochet stitch ‘n’ b**** gathering. I’m starting her off by showing her using the ‘knook’ and then I think she’ll want to “transfer over to” Tunisian! She’s a true beginner, but has been knitting for awhile. I can’t wait until Anita sees how the TKS looks like “real” knitting…

  5. So after I posted the last post, I re-read your post slowly & carefully. I want to say that I hope you continue designing in traditional crochet as well as Tunisian. I do enjoy Tunisian, and esp. now that we can get various types/styles of hooks (I just acquired the Denise set) just as you say. It’s hard to ignore your enthusiasm for Tunisian, it spills “out of your ears”!!!
    Can’t wait to see the stitch pattern book-I jsut bought your Tunisian Baby Blanket book online, for a decent price! I was amazed, it just took a google search! I have almost all your books and definitely as many of the Tunisian ones that I know about. It sounds like I might be missing a couple, since I don’t have any T. books from earlier than 5 years or so. Will check your website for a list of your books.

    • Yes, indeed. I am still working in traditional crochet. I just turned in 4 garments to a publisher and only 1 is Tunisian. And, the new book that’s been commissioned isn’t Tunisian. So, I’m definitely working in all directions. (If I continue to be forgetful, please remind me about that email about the books in your shop. I keep forgetting to sit down and give you a proper response.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers