WIPs 'N Chains

Kim Guzman, Crochet and Knit Design

Book Confessions

3 Comments

For those of you who follow me around the internet (I really get around!), you may have read what I’ve said in the past about taking photos of your work. If you’re feeling critical about your work, before ripping it out, take a photo first. For some reason, this seems to give you a new perspective on your project and sometimes it convinces you that you have perhaps been too critical.

The same thing goes for color work. If you’re not really loving the colors you’ve chosen, taking a photo and viewing it on your computer screen could give you an entirely new perspective.

So, now for the confession. I hated this project. Not the making. I loved making it. I can hardly believe that I’m about to divulge to you that I thought it was ugly. I almost didn’t send it in with the rest of the book.

But, if I hadn’t, I wouldn’t have seen this:

You see what I’m seeing, right? It’s positively stunning! It’s now my favorite project from the entire book. It was chosen as the cover, for goodness’ sakes! This project is going to be very difficult for me to top in future publications. Truly amazing with three different kinds of cables. My mouth dropped when I saw it in print the first time.

And, here’s the proof of there being something about seeing a photo and changing your mind. If I had decided not to send it in with the other projects, I never would have known the true beauty of this piece.

This project is the Limerick Wrap from my new book, Tunisian Cables to Crochet, currently available in hard copy and PDF download here.

Author: crochetkim

Artist: Crochet and Knit Pattern Designer

3 thoughts on “Book Confessions

  1. I agree! This is an outstanding design!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers