WIPs 'N Chains

Kim Guzman, Crochet and Knit Design

Ready to Throw in the Towel

20 Comments

This post will be about the Cape Sleeved Cardi which is a free pattern available at Caron yarns here. I am very appreciative that someone likes my design well enough to spend hours and hours and hours demonstrating the entire crocheting of the garment on YouTube. The videos are separated into three parts so I know how much work went into them. Just watching them will take over 1-1/2 hours. That doesn’t take into account the extra time prepping and re-takes. However, it has caused me nothing but grief.

Someone has committed a lot of time to make three videos showing how to do the entire Cape Sleeved Cardi. That is a lot of work. And, wow! Potentially very helpful. However, she has made mistakes that have generated questions like this one that I received last night:

“I have some DK weight yarn in my stash. Can I use it instead of Super Saver?”

I was dumbfounded by the question because the pattern is written in DK weight yarn, not aran weight yarn (Super Saver). Through investigation, I finally discovered why I was getting such strange questions.

The videos aren’t just casual videos. She has a huge YouTube channel and 12,000 subscribers. That is a lot of “fall out” which is coming to me.

1) She has done the stitch incorrectly. I work into a different bar of the stitch. And, this is just like Tunisian, you can work in any old bar to produce the stitch. That part will only affect the stitch cosmetically. However, she has shown how to do a treble stitch, not a double treble. I don’t know. Maybe when the stitches get high enough, people think it doesn’t matter. You can just do any old stitch in there and call it a day. But, in truth, it is like telling people to replace a double crochet with a single crochet. Imagine the difference in gauge after 10 repeats of that. When she was asked in comments why she has only 4 loops on her hook when the pattern says 5 loops, she simply said that is how she learned it and it is correct. People are coming to me because they can’t get gauge, which isn’t unusual except now I’ve got all these people who can’t get gauge because they’re working the wrong stitch.

2) While I am mortified that someone has done the pattern in an aran weight yarn and then were confused that the finished item could practically stand up by itself, I could let that part go. Of course, it makes me look like an idiot who can’t design clothing. But, I can let that part go.

In the end, I already get a lot of emails from people about my designs. I am fielding questions constantly. I can’t keep up with the questions I am receiving due to this misinformation.

The last couple of weeks, I feel like I have answered some of the most bizarre questions about this design. I have stayed up all hours of the night responding to questions. I have spent hours and hours answering questions. And, while I don’t mind answering questions, the sheer numbers of emails I have received with questions that made no sense has been overwhelming. I can’t get any work done. I was literally up until 4 am dealing with this and got up 5 hours later and I’m still dealing with this. I don’t know what to do about it. I can’t go on this way. I can’t get any work done because I’m answering questions due to the misinformation given in these videos.

I’m sorry, guys. As much as I love the internet, it has also proven to be a curse. It is the bane of my existence right now. And, I am so ready to simply throw in the towel and admit defeat.

Author: crochetkim

Artist: Crochet and Knit Pattern Designer

20 thoughts on “Ready to Throw in the Towel

  1. ((HUGS)) I’m so sorry you are going thru all this Kim!! I saw that link to her video and watched for about 2 or 3 min and saw so many mistakes I couldn’t believe it! Have you tried to contact her to take it down? Oh, that was a dumb question, of course you have! ((HUGS)) again.

  2. Hi Kim, Rhoadan from Yahoo Groups here. It occurs to me that if that woman is going up a yarn size from the original pattern, she may need to use a shorter stitch to get gauge. That she doesn’t realize she’s doing it wrong is sad.

    • Yes, indeed! It is a brilliant adjustment for using the wrong size yarn. It was probably her saving grace because, if she had done the stitch to its full height, the sleeves would have been huge. But, unfortunately, it is falling to me to respond to the emails because others cannot get gauge after watching her videos.

  3. Kim… I’m so sorry this has caused you so much grief. I had found these videos very early on and thought I was doing the right stitch. Now for sure I’m going to rip this out and start over. For the record, even though I was following the video, I did end up with five loops on my hook before the second step of pulling two loops through the length of the stitch. The fifth loop came from putting the hook into the next stitch along the base, if that makes any sense.

    I’ve not been able to find your book at the JoAnn’s by me, the “Ultimate Tunisian” book. This particular store is depressing. I can only do cash purchases right now, so I guess I’ll have to wait until it hits the libraries, if it will eventually.

  4. Well my dear friend, I am very sorry for the craziness. If someone sends me a question that makes no sense, I tell them so. I tell them to explain it to me, so that I can respond; What it is they are really trying to do? If people don’t read a pattern , that is another story, you can tell if they have not read the pattern. Yep they think is a knit pattern, because it looks knit, but is under crochet patterns? If they don’t swatch, if they don’t read, if they use a dc instead of a FPdc, then they are on their own. People think they can substitute yarns, myself included, without swatching, some times you can, others is a really bad idea. lol.

    • Thanks, Andy. :-) But, even just responding to 50 emails, telling people their question doesn’t make sense, is causing me to sit down and spend the time to respond to 50 emails. Trying to work is out of the question. Even trying to eat is out of the question.

  5. Kim, please don’t throw in the towel. It’s unfortunate but it sounds like once viewers realized it was your design, they headed your way to get their questions answered.

    • And therein lies the problem. People are doing the design incorrectly due to the videos and are now coming to me to answer questions about a design which should never come up. I have been bombarded by emails. While I love helping people with my designs, receiving so many emails that are generated from these incorrect videos is making it so that I can’t get anything else done.

  6. Kim, can you maybe leave a reply in the comment section of the videos saying that you’re the designer and suggest that people obtain and carefully read the pattern instead of relying solely on the videos? I don’t blame you for wanting to “throw in the towel.” Who would have thought your generosity in offering a free pattern would end up causing you so much grief????

  7. You know, she’s actively hurting your brand by misrepresenting your product. If she’s using your name and the pattern name without your permission, I would think that alone might give you sufficient reason to ask her to take down the video.

  8. At this point, I would put up a pointed disclaimer on all of your sites that the you tube video poster IS WRONG, especially if she is refusing to answer any of YOUR emails to her about it, as you are the one who designed it. Frankly, anyone who does not take the time to actually look at the ENTIRE pattern and then look at the category of yarn it calls for and then insists their mistakes are correct that the designer is at fault is a complete and total idiot. I have NEVER had any issues with ANY of your designs. Your tutorial videos are always clear, concise and very informative. Perhaps a video tutorial of the stitch in question done by you along with a warning placed in large red capital letters on your sites stating that this person is posting erroneous information and the directions for the stitch are on your site and that you will no longer be able to answer any emails generated from that you tube video site. It’s a bit harsh, I know, *BUT* if you have been trying to nicely deal with it and no one is listening, then, so be it, go to a bit more firmer stance on it. I know you will be very tactful and polite about it, as that is just the way you are. But, please, don’t let these people take advantage of you in this manner. It is too hard on you when you have other things that you have to deal with, too. *HUGS* ME

  9. Could you contact the person who made the video’s and ask that they be taken down?

  10. I am so sorry this has happened to you. People should not make videos dealing with patterns that are not their own, for the reasons you stated. Too many errors and you are the one catching the flack.
    Is there no way to force her to remove the video?

    I sincerely hope you do not stop designing because of this, you are far too talented to be chased away by this person.

  11. You really are taking on a lot of stress for something that is not your fault. I agree with the other comments that the You Tube poster should take the video down and correct it. Failing that taking place, you could put up a comment along the lines of “This video does not follow the pattern exactly as I designed it. A link to my design is here: link@address.com. I am unable to answer questions about this pattern if you are following these instructions.”

    You can soften it or make it harsher, but don’t take on something that is leading you into a personal crisis, through no fault of your own.

  12. I agree with Ann above. This woman used the pattern without permission. I don’t think libel is the right word, but she’s surely relaying misinformation that is harmful to you and your brand.

    Have you talked to Caron? They’re the ones with the copyright, no? They probably have a legal team that can squash the video. To lay out the whole pattern so that people can work it without needing the pattern – or thinking they don’t need the pattern — isn’t that about the same as distributing the pattern with her name on it?

  13. I am so sorry that you are going through all of this. I hope some resolution is found quickly. In the meantime, please take care of yourself.

  14. Those of us who appreciate your talent ignore copycats and annoyances. Calm down and take a nap!

    Carole Fitzgerald

    Sent from my iPhone

  15. I am so sorry you are dealing with this. I pray it goes away. Or that God will give you the strength and knowledge of how best to deal with this.

  16. I just tried searching for the video this morning and I think it has been taken down. Hopefully this will not only lessen your headache with dealing with all this, but maybe it will be a lesson for people that taking a shortcut isn’t always the best way to go.

    You do an amazing job as a designer, Kim, and as a crocheter, I’m very happy with what you offer to the craft. Hang in there, and know that there are so many of us who support you.

  17. It’s really a shame that this happened to you. I am amazed at the patience you have shown in answering all the questions going to your Yahoo group. I think you deserve a medal.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers