WIPs 'N Chains

Kim Guzman, Crochet and Knit Design

Fingerless Mitts

6 Comments

Fingerless mitts. Hmmm….. So contradictory. Honestly, I didn’t get it. When it’s cold outside, my fingers are the coldest. Why on earth would I want fingerless mitts? But, they’re all the rage with the “kids”. It allows them to text while still maintaining a semblance of warmth.

Because of their popularity, I’ve designed some. Above are some quick-to-stitch mitts with a simple cable. This pattern is available in The Ultimate Beginner’s Guide to Tunisian Crochet, by Leisure Arts. I used Red Heart Mystic for the design. Just one skein. How cool is that? Just one skein to make a quick gift. I loved making them so much that I immediately grabbed another skein of yarn and made this pair in the same pattern. This time, Alpaca Love by Debbie Stoller’s Stitch Nation.

It was then that I realized that maybe I wasn’t giving these mitts my full appreciation. Honestly, one skein of yarn and just a little bit of time and I’ve got something that a lot of people, especially young people, are wearing all the time. It’s hard enough to find gifts for young people. And, here it is! So, I designed more.

These are the Lucia mitts, currently available at Kimane Designs. It was with this pair of mitts that I discovered that I could wear them even with my cold fingers.

I just put them over some store-bought gloves.

And they look great!

You know the kind of gloves you can get at the dollar store for $1? Wear the mitts on top of them for a really unique look. You step the gloves up a notch and it looks fantastic. So, I was really moving along now. Designing these mitts all over.

These are my Manchester Mitts from the soon-to-be available Tunisian Cables to Crochet.

And, this one is really hard to resist, isn’t it? The popular owl motif translated to Tunisian crochet, also available in Tunisian Cables to Crochet. This is just adorable!

And, I kid you not. If I found myself in a position to make some projects for craft fairs, you better believe I’d be making up lots and lots of fingerless mitts. They are wonderful to make. So quick. And, so wearable!

Author: crochetkim

Artist: Crochet and Knit Pattern Designer

6 thoughts on “Fingerless Mitts

  1. Fingerless gloves are perfect for Houston “winter”! I have yarn set aside for fingerless gloves with an XO cable, but I don’t want to knit them… (hint hint LOL)

  2. I crocheted two pair of fingerless mitts in a fuzzy yarn I had been given, so I don’t know the yarn content. My twin granddaughters loved them, and even the tams I crocheted to go with them. However, I made the cuffs a good bit longer that the ones you show here. (I had no pattern, just started at the cuff and did rounds, leaving a hole for the thumb.)

  3. Pingback: New Crochet-Along: Tunisian Cabled Mitts « WIPs 'N Chains

  4. Pingback: TCAL: Tunisian Cabled Mitts Starts November 15 « WIPs 'N Chains

  5. Pingback: TCAL: Tunisian Cabled Mitts Starts November 15 | WIPs 'N Chains

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers