WIPs 'N Chains

Kim Guzman, Crochet and Knit Design

Sweetheart Ripple Afghan

16 Comments

I’d like to take a moment to pay homage to the most popular design in my career, the Sweetheart Ripple Afghan.

This incredible afghan actually happened quite by accident. I had been working on swatches for several days. I was developing a concept for a book proposal. After developing a unique stitch that gave this reversible effect, I set upon making lots and lots of swatches.

I had made this swatch in red, exactly as pictured above. However, I didn’t realize that there were hearts. I had no idea. I liked it. It was very clever. But, I didn’t know there were hearts.

I set it down after working on it and took a break. When I returned, there it was! The Hearts! My own heart just about jumped out of my chest in excitement. And, incredibly, it was actually in red! It was just meant to be, I guess.

I immediately took a photo and sent it to the editor of Crochet World magazine. I think that was the fastest submission and acceptance I had ever experienced.

That year, the afghan made the cover of the magazine. It was a lovely sight to see on the shelves of magazine stands.

You can now purchase this afghan pattern, along with the others I designed to go with it in a lovely book (both hard copy and PDF download) from Annie’s Attic called Reversible Ripple Afghans.

With Valentine’s Day right around the corner, this would make a stunning gift.

Author: crochetkim

Artist: Crochet and Knit Pattern Designer

16 thoughts on “Sweetheart Ripple Afghan

  1. I have to say that this afghan is the reason I hunted that back issue of CW down like a mad dog. I HAD to have this pattern! lol It’s so pretty and sweet!

  2. It’s beautiful. Congratulations!

  3. Wow, that heart afghan it so pretty. Hard to believe it was an “accident” :)

  4. Kim, this is my absolute favorite afghan pattern!

  5. This design is awesome! I’m horrible at reading patterns. Any chance you will release a pay per view type video?

    • I agree … I bought the book and having a hard time following part of the pattern. This is by the best patter ever!

      • Please let me know if you are having trouble with the modified stitch or with the positioning. Those are the usual culprits. I can direct you to online resources.

      • Hi I am having trouble with row 5, please point me in the right direction for help… thanks. and maybe a video tutorial would be great!! michael selick from http://thecrochetcrowd.com/ is really good at it!

      • As Michael has commented on his Facebook wall, it would be a copyright infringement to do a video showing how to do this afghan. It would be the equivalent of providing the pattern free-of-charge. We can help as much as possible, but showing exactly how to do it is impossible. Please review the crochet-along here: http://www.crochetville.org/forum/showthread.php?t=93270 There are lots of messages to help you with the pattern.

        When I am able to provide videos for my own designs, I do them myself.

  6. beautiful, i shop at annies attic ofter, or rather order as that is far far away from me..You are very talented designer……

  7. Absolutely amazing…. I love the heart ripple. I am now anxious to find the pattern. I haven’t picked up my hooks or needles in over a year, but I will pick them up again to try this beauty.
    Thank you for sharing your gift.

  8. HOLA BUENAS TARDES, ME GUSTA MUCHO ESTA PUNTADA, PERO NO ME SALE LA PUNTADA NO SE SI TENGAS EL PATRON O ALGUN VIDEO, YA VI EL DE YOUTUBE PERO AUN ASI NO ME SALE. GRACIAS

  9. Fantastico!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers