WIPs 'N Chains

Kim Guzman, Crochet and Knit Design

Learn Tunisian Crochet

3 Comments

A few years’ ago, I started making available some online videos at YouTube for more difficult stitches that you may find in my patterns. These videos have been quite a success and have been used by many to learn these more unique stitches.

One of the most unique stitches is the Tunisian Purled Knit Stitch. As much as it sounds like a typo, it’s not. Through my research into stitches, I realized that the Tunisian Purl Stitch, as used in modern publications, is actually a “wrapped” stitch. If you really think about it, it is a Wrapped Tunisian Simple Stitch. The yarn goes around the front vertical bar, wrapping it and creating what looks similar to a purl bump in hand-knitting.

Once I really gave this stitch some serious thought, I realized that you could actually Purl any stitch. Here is an example of a Purled (or Wrapped) Tunisian Knit Stitch.

If you would like to learn Tunisian crochet, I have now organized all of my free videos in the order I feel is best for learning. You can view them here. And, my main YouTube channel, with all of my videos is here.

Better start learning now because you are going to want to get busy on the gorgeous new projects in my new book coming out very soon from Leisure Arts!

Author: crochetkim

Artist: Crochet and Knit Pattern Designer

3 thoughts on “Learn Tunisian Crochet

  1. Would love to see a demo of the cable stitch you use in your Nautical Waves Afghan. I cannot quite figure out how to take stitches off the cable stitch holder. Thank you!

    • I have improved upon the cabling technique which I used in that afghan. My new method is shown in my book, Tunisian Cables to Crochet, and in the new Annie’s online class called Tunisian Cables & Lace. If the cabling technique from the Nautical Waves Afghan is causing problems, you may want to give one of these alternate cabling techniques a try. Just like in knitting, there are several alternatives in producing cables and trying to find the one that works for us is the way to go. For instance, I prefer cabling without a cable needle or holder and I do this for both knitting and Tunisian. You may prefer that as well.

      • Thank you Kim for getting back to me so quickly! As soon as I master this cable stitch, I look forward to starting my Nautical Wave Afghan! I will definitely look into your suggestions & your book!

        Thank you Again,

        Karen

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers