WIPs 'N Chains

Kim Guzman, Crochet and Knit Design

Tutorial: Charleston Cloche

41 Comments

When I was working on this project for Red Heart yarns, I knew it was an easy project. What I didn’t know at the time was how difficult it would be to write the pattern. And, I have to admit that it really was the most difficult pattern I’ve ever written. It reminded me of how difficult it is to write join-as-you-go patterns. Way too much text for something so easy.

What else I didn’t know was that it was going to turn out to be as difficult to read as it was to write (just like join-as-you-go patterns). So, I decided to set about making a video tutorial. This is definitely not the easiest thing to do around here. Seriously, there is rarely a quiet moment. Brianna had to contain Christian because it never fails that I’ll make a perfect video and then Christian will come screaming into the room.

And, this time, after making several attempts, I finally had to turn the fan back on. Literally over 80°F in here and I was going to melt before I could get it finished. You’ll hear the fan in the background, but I’m hopeful that this video will help you.

The pattern is for this adorable Charleston Cloche. It is available on Debbie Stoller’s Stitch Nation website here.

The hat alone literally took me one hour to stitch up. It’s only 12 rounds total. Definitely a super quick project and you’ll have plenty of time to make lots for yourself and for gifts.

Now for that video…

I hope it helps! Enjoy!

Author: crochetkim

Artist: Crochet and Knit Pattern Designer

41 thoughts on “Tutorial: Charleston Cloche

  1. I definitely think it’s a great idea to add a video tutorial when a pattern is complicated to explain in words (even though I typically learn better with words myself). And so interesting to learn how much work goes into a pattern that may seem simple to the person making something!

  2. Kim, thank you for providing a visual to help better understand the words. I will admit i was having difficulty with the pattern. Now I can create and learn in my best way, hear and see (written). Thank you for doing this.

  3. Thank you so much for the video. I was having problems understanding the pattern. Now everything is so much easier and less frustrating.

  4. THANK YOU for the tutorial. I have crocheted for years, but was having difficulty with this pattern. So happy I can make this for my friend without pulling my hair out! :)

  5. Oh my goodness. Am I glad I found this link!! Thank you so much for the video. It helped me so much!

  6. Thank so much! I am a beginner and picked the pattern up at a yarn shop. I actually thought I might make it through the instructions but got stuck in the middle of round 3…and thought I would go crazy. I googled your name and LOOK what I found. I feel so much better! I love the interesting way this comes together and now can make lots more of the same for gifts.

  7. Never mind. It didn’t work :( I tried and tried and tried and pulled out row after row but always ended up increasing. There was always an added horizontal cluster at the end of every row. So sad :( I was going to make a bunch for Christmas presents, but I give up. I spent at least 8 hours on this :(

    • I’m so sorry Deedra. Perhaps it’s one of those things that you’ll want to set aside for a bit and try later. Sometimes it helps to allow it to “stew” a bit before trying again.

  8. Can someone please tell me which stitch the “base of the first horizontal Cl” is in order to join rounds? The video quality is not all that great, and I cannot tell which stitch to join into with a sl st.

    • “join with slip st in base of first horizontal Cl” It is the bottom of the first horizontal stitch of the round.

      • Ugh. I hate being the dumbest crocheter in the entire world. I’m thinking it’s the space shaped like a little “o”. I guess my mental picture of what “bottom” means just doesn’t match up to the wad of yarn in my hand. But thank-you for the prompt reply. I surely wasn’t expecting a personal response. I really appreciate it!

      • Don’t be too hard on yourself. It’s a unique and challenging stitch pattern. It takes some getting used to.

  9. My question is: When joining rows, the appearance of the join begins to look like a curve. Is this what it is supposed to happen and look like? I keep pulling the rows out and after many times it always has the crescent pattern. Can you show the joing stitches row (back) to ensure I am making it correctly?

    Thanks

  10. Thank you so much for this video tutorial! I am very much a visual/auditory learner and your instruction helped a lot!

  11. Thank you for the video…. I never would have been able to figure it out without it… I love it…. Thanks!

  12. Thanks for doing this video! I would have not figured it out without it! What I love about this pattern is that it is quick and easy!

  13. Can you do a toddler size in this pattern? I would like to do a mom and daughter hat!

  14. I think this pattern may be easier for the Intermediate/Advanced crocheter. You have to familiar with making cluster stitches, working in the ‘back ridge’ in the 3rd ch from the hook (or, the ‘eye’ of the cluster st. In general, one has to realize that this is not your standard ‘working around’ pattern. One has to know how to sometimes ‘work outside the box’.

    But I will say having the tutorial is great for clearing up any misconceptions one may have. But saying it will only take about a hour, well….maybe about 2!! ;-)

    • I really did crochet the hat in an hour. I was watching an episode of “Sons of Anarchy” and I finished during the episode (except for the flower). I am Madame Speedy. :-)

    • Ken, can you help me decode this pattern. Lots of guessing on the stitches and the video does not help. A step by step picture of rows 3 and 4 with arrows would help. Base cl? joining?

      Thanks

  15. Hi Kim, This one is on my to-make list! Thank you soooo very much for all you give and GIVE and G.I.V.E. to the crochet community. Although there seem to be more and more people who are rude and inconsiderate, please know there are thousands more of us who value and appreciate the life of service you have chosen. If I could invent a GRATITUDE PILL, it would sell like hotcakes!!

  16. Thank you for your tutorial on this lovely hat. Without it i would not have gotten it done and it’s one of my favorites.

  17. i too had problems on ending and beginning the rows but finally worked it out after doing a few hats. i love this pattern.
    thanks Kim

  18. Kim, I still don’t get it. Maybe Susan can help since she had the same problem. I cannot see what I need to know on the video. Could you snap a close up photo of the horizontal cluster and lay it against paper with an arrow drawn to the base of the horizontal cluster. I cannot find that stitch anywhere on the Internet.
    Thanks.

    • I understand that the video isn’t the best. It was the best I could do at the time. I am currently in the process of reshooting all my YouTube videos and this one is on the list. If you can wait a bit, I will have it ready as soon as I can. It is next up on my list, but I won’t be able to get to it for about a week or so. I nearly sliced off my finger last night while pressure canning. If you would like notice of when it’s available, you may want to follow my YouTube channel http://www.youtube.come/user/crochetkim or my current blog http://www.kimguzman.com/blog

      If it helps, the horizontal cluster is the same as any other cluster. It’s just that the pattern forces it to turn on its side.

  19. Sorry, I gave up. Hopefully, the new video will clarify, since it is such a cute hat.

  20. I didn’t have any problem with the clusters, and as your video says once you get the hang of it, it goes pretty quick. What threw me was the stitch count at the end of the row instructions. Round 4 indicates 22 horizontal Cl. I haven’t finished this round, but it looks like it will only have 11-12 horizontal Cl. I’m not sure how you counted your clusters. Glad to find the video. It helped greatly. I’m making for my granddaughters and I know they’re going to love them.

  21. I am too really thought the video helped and would like to thank you for it :) Now I need help with the flower can’t get past round 3. Help! Yes I’m a novice haven’t done much crocheting.

    • I do not currently have a video for this and I’m unaware of any other video for it. I have it on my video production schedule, but I have had to halt production because I’m currently writing a book which is monopolizing all of my time, unfortunately.

      But, let me try to explain. You are making chain loops behind the petals of the flower. This gives it the layered look.

      Bend the first petal toward you. Now, you’ll slip stitch into one of the back bars at the bottom of the petal and chain. Then repeat for each remaining petal. You will end with chain loops behind each petal and the next round will begin working into those chain spaces for the next round of petals. You will continue bending the first round of petals toward you will completing them.

      I hope that helps. :-)

  22. Should have said stuck on round 3. Thank you :)

  23. I will try this it should help. Thank you for answering so quickly I appreciate it :) When I saw this cute pattern I wanted to make it for my daughter-in-law so I really appreciate the help.

  24. I found the video really helpful, thank you! I’m about half way through the hat, but it’s looking more like a frilly doily and isn’t really the shape of a hat at all. Am I doing something wrong, or will it take shape as I continue?

  25. WONDERFUL video. Thank you so much! I just need some assurance that I was headed in the right direction & you have done that for me!! What a nice calm teaching voice, too!! ha.. THANKS so much!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 204 other followers